Organize that web content

This summer I’ve had time to play quite a bit with a tool I found out about months ago—LiveBinders. This free web application allows you to create a virtual 3-ring binder of web content which is easily shared with others. You simply sign up and register and put theLiveBinder bookmarklet in your toolbar. Then, whenever you’re browsing websites and find something you or your teachers might be interested in you can capture it into a designated binder that you’ve created for similar items. Each tab in your binder is basically a url of the site you found and chose to capture. It’s also possible to use many subtabs for broad topics. You have the choice of making your binders public or private, and there are options for sharing including email and embedding into your webpage or blog.

Besides allowing me to put multiple websites all in one handy place for colleagues, I can browse the LiveBinders site for the public binders being madeavailable by others. (Go to the Education category for school-related content, but it’s fun to see what else is out there as well for hobbies or recreational content.) Why re-invent the wheel?

This would be a great tool to use in a lab situation when you want students accessing particular websites for a research project, for example. Or you could create a binder of sites with interactive games for literacy or math stations. Students could have some choice, and all choices are available at the click of a tab.

Here are a couple of examples of some I’ve created and am anxious to share with my staff. Please let me know how you are using this tool.

Story sites
SMART board resources
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Ann Kadish
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 02:31:55

    Kathy, This is terrific. What a wonderful resource you have created to share with us. I had thought of starting a blog last year and just never followed through. You are inspiring and challenging me to go for it this year!
    Thank you and I look forward to visiting you blog often.
    Mary Ann Kadish
    Porters Point

    Reply

  2. Sheila Aiken
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 18:45:39

    I just realized this is what julie was doing in Julie and julia. I loved that movie. bye

    Reply

  3. Sheila Aiken
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 18:56:09

    thank you for all of this work. It is my first blog experience and I was sold when I found the preschool lesson plans on the story site. I have three preschool programs and maybe four this year so this is a wonderful find.
    I enjoyed the crab story loved the list of beginning of the year stories.
    I am, interested in the smart board sites. I am really trying to become a participant of the 21st century library. We must do tea some day. Great job. Keep it up. sheila

    Reply

  4. Melanie
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 23:21:07

    Thanks for showing your library colleagues all about LiveBinders today! I can’t wait to put it into use at school.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

