Minding their P’s and Q’s

Call me old-fashioned, but…I think it’s important during the first few weeks of school to give direct instruction in the use of manners.  I prioritize it right up there with caring for books and choosing books.  It’s very much a part of my “Library Expectations” lessons.  We talk a lot about “respect” in schools, but so often I’m not sure students understand how that plays out in their daily interactions with others.  It can be as simple as a “please” or “thank you” delivered with sincerity at just the right time.  And fortunately there are some fun books to help deliver the message and get the conversation started.  Here are some of my favorites:

Mo Willems’s Time to Say Please

Laurie Keller’s Do Unto Otters

Judy Sierra’s Mind your Manners, B.B. Wolf

The payoff of course is the pleasure of working with students who’ve been taught to be civil.  I don’t know about you, but I’m a whole lot more responsive to anyone who is polite with me!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Keating
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 16:51:57

    Kathy…you are amazing! I love this blog and how current it is to flow of the librarian’s school year…I am so looking forward to your regular blog posts. As the Curriculum Director, this kind of technology implementation helps me stay connected and current. It provides yet another 21st century venue for communication and dialogue with a much larger audience. Thank you!

    Reply

  2. Melanie
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 23:22:32

    I couldn’t agree with you more. A please goes a long way with me! Thanks for sharing the related books re: manners.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

