In 2011, resolve to…

New Year's Eve Fireworksphoto © 2009 Mack Male | more info (via: Wylio)
Let’s face it–it’s all about the data these days, isn’t it?  I’ve spent a lot of time in recent years thinking about how to make my work more transparent and how to raise awareness of the breadth and depth of the teacher librarian’s role.  One of the things I started doing was to compile a monthly report to submit to my principal.  I basically created a simple template that I follow each time and I try desperately to keep it to one page. (Easier for me, easier for him.)  I’m on a fixed schedule, so the things represented in the report are in addition to the weekly classes held.

You can see some samples from a few months at the link below.  (The first two aren’t labeled but they’re from the first 2 months of this school year.)  Click through using the blue arrows at the top of the screen.

Sample monthly reports

My low-tech way of keeping track of things is to hang a piece of paper on the side of my file cabinet and keep a running list of things we do throughout the month.  We also take lots of photos when appropriate and promote our program on two bulletin boards.

I post links to my reports on the library’s web page as well, in case parents are interested.

A goal I have for this year is to begin publishing an annual report (one with more glitz!).  There are many fine examples of fabulous ones here.

Is 2011 the year you begin sharing how vital you are in a monthly/annual report?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheila Aiken
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 20:04:26

    Hi Kathy, thank you for the caldecott information. Because i visited your Bolg last week I Knew the caldecott was being announced today and I was ready. I even have the book. I was so excited. I have several families doing the Caldecott challenge and I”m thrilled to able to share this information so quickly and having the book is amazing. Thanks to many wonderful parents going to the school board and lobbying for my job and the govenor’s decision I will not lose any time for next year. You are doing a great job with your blog and I have learned a lot from you and it. Thank you and Happy New Year. Sheila

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 20:23:50

      That’s great, Sheila! I’m so glad for you. I’m glad you’re finding the blog helpful, too. I’m still new at all of this, but trying! I don’t have Amos McGee yet, but it was on my Titlewave list to get. Looks cute. Please stay in touch. Next week is our next regional mtg. at S. Burlington HS. I’m sending out an email reminder probably tonight or tomorrow. Maybe you can make that?…. Happy New Year to you, too! Kathy

      Reply

Leave a Reply

