30 Day Challenge: Join me?

Shadow of a Writing Handphoto © 2008 john norton | more info (via: Wylio)
Serendipity sometimes happens!  Shortly after my post about blogging, one of my teachers expressed interest in learning about blogging with her students AND I heard about the Edublogs Teacher Challenge.

Basically the folks at Edublogs want to help more educators to learn to blog and have a voice.  So they’ve put together a series of tasks to help both new and advanced bloggers become more effective.  So yours truly is jumping in!  (This post is actually one of my assignments!)

I joined the challenge because I’m interested in hearing ideas from classroom teachers about how they use blogging with their students.  (I have a passion for the teaching of writing and I suspect there are tremendous possibilities here!)  If I can get enough ideas and exemplars I’d like to approach some of my colleagues about working with them to develop a classroom blog or work on some sort of microblogging in-house.

I also want to learn more specifics about things like pingbacks and trackbacks and how to increase the traffic to my blog, comments etiquette, etc.  I’ve struggled a bit with widgets so I definitely need help there, and I’ve also at times gotten discouraged wondering whether the time I put in is worth it without a huge readership.  (And how DO you get people to actually subscribe via RSS?)

These are some things that have been rambling around in this blogger’s head since I first heard about the challenge.  So how about it?  Any takers?  Let me know if you decide to take the challenge, too, and I’ll visit your blog!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Scrimgeour
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 05:28:27

    Dear Kathy,
    I am really enjoying your blog and use the RSS feed right on my iGoogle page. Your blog gives me lots of food for thought and new ideas. I even made my own blabber. Thanks for doing this!

    Reply

  2. Donna Macdonald
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 20:14:13

    Hi Kathy,
    I do enjoy reading your blog to find out what you’re doing and thinking. I subscribed via RSS feed to my Google Reader. You’re an important piece of my PLN. Write on!

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 00:44:28

      Hey Donna,
      I just found your comment in my spam folder. So sorry I hadn’t stumbled upon it earlier. Thank you for your support! Am still learning a lot about navigating through WordPress…

      Reply

  3. Miss W.
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 22:30:25

    G’day Kathy,
    I read your comment in the teacher challenge blog and decided to visit. We will be covering all those topics you mentioned over the next three weeks in the challenge.

    The challenge in February will revolve around getting students blogging ready for the global Student Blogging Challenge which I run every March and September for a ten week period.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

