Challenge Activity #5: Images

Koi fishphoto © 2007 Cristina | more info (via: Wylio)
There is no question that I enjoy reading blog posts that sport images more than those that just contain text.  Especially if (like me) you read online content in Google Reader.  The plain blue and white format there can get tiring, so images have lots of appeal.  (As much as I love RSS, it does seem a shame not to visit some of the lovely themes that people have chosen for their blogs.  I chose today’s koi fish image to accompany my WordPress koi theme.)

Anyway, early on in my efforts to learn about what good bloggers do, I made a conscious decision to include images for most if not all posts.  If you look at all my posts you’ll see that I’ve stuck to that pretty well.  Luckily, lots of bloggers have shared their favorite copyright-friendly sites for images and I’ve tried a few. (Click on the livebinder below for some suggestions I’ve learned about from others.)

So far I like flickrCC and morguefile, but my favorite site in terms of ease of use is Wylio.com.  All images are licensed through Creative Commons and the attribution is built right in.  It’s super simple to search for a photo, choose the size you want, and grab the embed code.  I don’t think I’ll go anywhere else unless I absolutely can’t find what I need on Wylio!

 

Copy of Free Stock Images
17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. berryart
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 00:21:55

    Hmmm, I like this theme so much. I wonder why? Oh, I know, I picked this one too. Good call on picking koi fish for your image. Thanks for giving us links to free images. I can share this with my students.

    -Mrs. Berry

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 11:20:22

      You are so welcome! That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? The first time I looked at your blog I thought, “Wow! She’s got good taste!” My daughter was very into koi fish when she was in high school….

      Reply

  2. Glenda
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 01:20:44

    Thank you so much for the tip on using Wylio. I’ll have a look at that one now. I am still learning. Wow 🙂
    Have a great day.

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 11:15:32

      You’re welcome, and thanks for stopping by! I am enjoying doing the challenge, but am finding the whole process for commenting/linking on the main site difficult. Have a great day! Kathy

      Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 11:22:16

      Thanks for stopping by. You won’t be disappointed with wylio. Yesterday it gave me some problems for the first time ever, but I think they’ve had lots of extra traffic lately. Have a super week.
      Kathy

      Reply

  3. Kathryn
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 03:06:39

    Thanks for a great post. I have just bookmarked a couple of the sites I did not know about, so thanks for sharing.
    Kathryn

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 11:18:27

      You’re entirely welcome. I love that we can all share this way. I’ve learned so much from others, and it’s fun to give back and pass things along. Have a great day!

      Reply

  4. murcha
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 09:37:26

    Thanks for sharing all that you have discovered with images. I must confess that I have not used Wylio before and will look at that one. Most of the time I try to take my own images but that does not always work. What a great idea to share the live binder. How do you like using it? How long have you been using it for?
    I am with you – images in posts make them so much more engagin! I love the one that you added an your explanation as to why you used it.

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 11:25:59

      You’re entirely welcome; I learn so much from others that I am happy to jump in and share when I can. I’ve been using livebinders since this summer and I love it. I now have over 40 that I’ve created and I keep adding to, sharing with my teachers, posting for parents, etc. There’s a bit of a learning curve in the beginning, but they have helpful tutorials. I actually need to go in and edit mine more. When you start to have too many tabs it gets cumbersome and then it’s time to create subtabs. Good luck!

      Reply

  5. Theresa
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 11:33:56

    Thank you for suggesting Wylio – great site! I’m adding it to my diigo bookmark page. Do you have any CC sites that the students gravitate towards?

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 02:01:00

      I’m glad you like Wylio. To be honest, I’ve not collaborated with teachers as much as I’d like for student projects using Creative Commons, so I can’t help with your question. (How do you work with your librarian? Our ed tech person is very part-time.) I stopped by your blog–Wow! You are doing some great things! I’m very interested in trying to help a classroom teacher to take the plunge and dive into blogging with students. Some of your featured friends might make great contacts for me!

      Reply

  6. MrsAngle
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 12:30:08

    Thanks for the link to Wylio – I love the idea of the attribution attached because I am so afraid I will somehow fail to do that correctly.

    I was introduced to LiveBinders at a workshop last Fall and am finding myself using them more and more (one for each subject I teach, one for each committee, etc.). They are part of my move to use “cloud” apps more often for personal organization – I can’t lose stuff as easily as I can when it’s on my desk!

    Thanks again!

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 02:22:37

      Ditto for me on the attribution thing; librarians are supposed to be champions of copyright and this helps a lot! Livebinders is great, isn’t it? I now have 40 that I’ve put together. Did you know that you can do a search and pull up binders that other people have created and marked “public”? There’s probably some good history ones for you! Why reinvent the wheel?

      Thanks for stopping by. I’m enjoying the Challenge. I very quickly visited your blog and glanced at some posts. (Tonight I have very limited computer time!) Like you, I love Google Reader and Pioneer Woman!

      Reply

      • MrsAngle
        Jan 26, 2011 @ 14:02:30

        Thanks for the LiveBinders tip! I searched for U.S. History binders and have found several with some amazing resources – thanks again!

        Suzanne
        mrsangle.wordpress.com

  7. Trackback: Tweets that mention Challenge Activity #5: Images « Buchlady's Blog -- Topsy.com
  8. Laurie Fowler
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 19:21:24

    I like your blog design and I, too, wonder what I miss when I read everything in my Google reader. I have enjoyed visiting the actual blogs of people doing the Teacher Challenge, although I do also get them in my Google Reader. I will have to try Wylio and see how it works. I love the image you used on this post.

    My post on images is located here http://lauriefowler.blogspot.com/2011/01/pictures-really-are-worth-1000-words.html

    Laurie

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 27, 2011 @ 00:42:53

      Hi Laurie,
      I just stopped by your blog and had a peek. First of all, I love the name and the flowers! Quite clever. You look like you’re a fun-loving person and the photo at the top with the red shirt seems to convey that. I played around with some of the avatar sites, too, but can’t decide what to do. For now, I’ll remain anonymous, I guess!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

