Snow Day Ketchup and Mustard

Ketchup and Mustardphoto © 2009 Shane Adams | more info (via: Wylio)
Years ago when I was a classroom teacher we’d occasionally need a day where we suspended the regular schedule in order to tie up loose ends–final edits on pieces of writing  for a publishing circle,  lingering math portfolio problems, etc. We called these days “Ketchup and Mustard” Days, and they were a nice break from the routine. I don’t know if my students had the same feeling of satisfaction as I did when the day was through, but I’m someone who likes to cross things off lists!   So today’s SNOW DAY (our first in a number of years) was a great day for me to “catch up” on some of my to-do items.

A big part of that was stumbling around WordPress trying to learn more about widgets and tags.  Thanks to Sue Waters over at Edublogs I have a better understanding of how to embed some new features in my sidebar.  (Before I read Sue’s tutorial and found out about the Text widget, I thought WordPress was just being stingy with the widget options they supported!)

After some trial-and-error I was able to add a ClustrMap, an email subscription widget, and a tag cloud (though I don’t know if I’ll keep that one).  I went back and added tags and checked categories for about half my posts, and rearranged the order on a number of things.  Not a bad afternoon’s work.  Now if I could just get those dishes done…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lydia Schultz
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 03:28:54

    I like the look of your page. It seems friendly and welcoming without too much busy-ness. And I love snow days too–I could use a day for sleeping in sometime soon.

    Hope you get dug out soon!

    Reply

  2. Melanie
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 08:03:11

    Do you have a link to the info abut embedding widgets into WordPress? I’m all for anything that makes it easier to use WordPress. Happy Snow Day!

    Reply

  3. Mrs S
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 10:32:57

    Your blog looks welcoming and the widgets at the side definitely add to it. It sounds like you have had some stormy weather to get a Snow day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

