…and that’s a wrap…

Finish Linephoto © 2010 jayneandd | more info (via: Wylio)
My patient readers, I thank you! A month ago I took on the Teacher Challenge through Edublogs called “Kick Start Your Blog” in order to increase my readership and better navigate the inner workings of the anatomy of a blog. I have sprinkled my assignment posts amidst my regular posts on “the nature of the library beast” and you’ve hung in there with me. Bear with me this one last time as I reflect on what I’ve learned and share my next steps. Then, it’ll be back to business as usual for Buchlady!

Working through the Challenge has put me in touch with some wonderful colleagues in both the U.S. and Australia. We have commented on each others’ posts and examined the features of each others’ blogs. I have gotten new ideas for widgets to add, and found new blogs to add to my Google Reader. I’ve been introduced to different tools for working with images and video, and begun to think about creating an avatar for myself. I’ve thought about what makes an effective post and tried to hone my writing. It’s been gratifying and affirming to find so many other people trying to do the same sorts of things that I’m trying to do in my professional life.

Now comes the hard part. The final challenge is for increasing readership and promoting your blog, and (dare I say it?)… that’s going to mean taking the plunge into Twitter. The folks at Edublogs were very clear about that. I must tweet. Tweet I must.  Hmmm….

Thankfully, I’ve been collecting resources (see livebinder below) for a while about Twitter which I will take a close look at during our winter break in a few weeks, and I’ve already watched Russell Stannard’s series of intro-to-Twitter videos here. But I’ll admit it–if I go there, I go reluctantly. Everything I read is pointing me there, but it seems like one more huge tug on my time. (Don’t I spend enough with Google Reader as it is?)

So readers, help me out. If you are a fan of Twitter for professional growth, please share your story (and/or tips) with me by leaving a comment.

Twitter
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lydia Schultz
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 21:01:12

    I have found Twitter to be occasionally useful, but I don’t have it on all of the time because it becomes too distracting for me. The best use of it is by using hashtags, which allow you to search when you do have time, to see who has posted what on topics that you are following. I look forward to adding you to my PLN. I am librarylady90 on twitter.

    Reply

  2. Deb Day
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 19:33:39

    I, too, find Twitter mildly useful. I don’t tweet myself a lot, I do follow many educators who do and that is why I find it useful. They tweet many great links and ideas that I can use. I check it a couple of times a day, read or look at anything that interests me and move on. I know I should probably tweet more, but I just don’t. I guess I really use it more as a “reader” than anything…

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Feb 12, 2011 @ 23:14:04

      Thanks for the response, Deb. Like you, I think I would use it as a reader, too. I think one of the main reasons I haven’t done it so far is that I figure if something really fabulous is tweeted about I’m going to find out about it eventually from my PLN anyway; most of the blogs I read often refer to things they found out about through Twitter. I don’t really mind not having the instant news–a day or two later is fine with me!

      Reply

  3. Greg
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 19:25:54

    You are succeeding in your marketing, Kathy. Half the battle is posting. The next big chunk is having the nerve to share your thoughts. I saw your blog link in signature line on an LM_NET post and found myself here. Am adding you to my reader for inspiration in jump starting my own writing habits.

    The last thing I need is more info coming in (Twitter). Keeping up with listserves and subscriptions to my reader keeps me to busy to reflect and post responses myself. Maybe this is the month I will get the ball rolling again . . .

    Keep up the good work. Greg

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Feb 16, 2011 @ 20:16:03

      Hi there,
      So nice of you to drop by; thank you for your kind words of encouragement. I have been home with the flu for almost a week now and haven’t had it in me to do anything but minimal emails. Will get back to posting soon, I hope.

      I will stop by to “see” you soon, and I hope you do get the ball rolling again…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

