Poetry: it’s all in the spine!

Poetry, Mosaic Ceiling (Washington, DC)photo © 2010 takomabibelot | more info (via: Wylio)
Here’s a great idea from Travis Jonker, elementary librarian over at 100 Scope Notes.  With the start of National Poetry Month just a few weeks away, why not look for the poetry in the book titles around you?

Literally, look at the words on the spine to build a poem called a cento.  You can read the background and see samples here.  I had so much fun thinking about this one as I lay on my couch resting after my second (yep—next year I’m getting the shot!) round of the flu.  I’m going to turn some third graders loose in the stacks and see what happens.  If we get some good results I think it would be great material for an April bulletin board, and I’ll post on my library webpage.

Let me know if you try this, and don’t forget to send Travis some samples!


1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Scope Notes
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 17:33:38

    Thanks for the shout out! Yes, send your attempts my way (scopenotes (at) gmail (dot) com) and I’ll add them to a book spine poem gallery I am putting up Friday, April 1 at 100 Scope Notes. It will be fun to see what folks come up with!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

