Watchknow: Youtube and so much more!

YouTube video Brandweer Nederweertphoto © 2010 Maurits Knook | more info (via: Wylio)
A few months ago I learned about WatchKnow from someone in my PLN and I passed on the recommendation to my teachers. (Watchknow is a site that hosts educationally safe videos in an ad-free environment.  This is great news in places where Youtube is blocked, and for those of us who hate all the extraneous “stuff” that appears on Youtube screens.) Here’s an excerpt from their vision statement: WatchKnowLearn has indexed over 20,000 educational videos, placing them into a directory of over 3,000 categories. The videos are available without any registration or fees to teachers in the classroom and to students at home 24/7.  When I first explored the site I was impressed with all of its search capabilities and the tremendous range of topics and grade levels.  Recently I was thankful to have found out about it. Why? My art teacher wondered if I could order a video for background information about the work of Georges Seurat as part of a special schoolwide project next year. Now, I’m in a K-3 school and after checking my usual catalogs and sources,  I came up empty-handed. Then I remembered WatchKnow! In just a few minutes I found several age-appropriate videos about Seurat and pointillism that will fit the bill perfectly. Ya gotta love the web and your PLN….!

Leave a Reply

