Rediscovered Treasures

Pirate treasure Chest photo © 2010 mags | more info (via: Wylio)
I don’t know about you, but I find it very tempting each year to build my whole-group read-alouds and recommendations to students upon:

1. The new books that arrived over the summer. (The bulk of my budget for any given year, and let’s face it–isn’t it like Christmas in July when those nice white boxes arrive from Follett?)

2. A few tried-and-true titles and authors I’ve come to rely upon.

But every year (at the end of the year when I’m shelf-reading before inventory) I find those titles that make me sigh and/or smile and say something to myself like, “Oh, yeah.  I remember this book.  I haven’t read or shared this with kids in a looooong time.  I’ll have to remember that come September.”

And of course I never do.  (Remember, that is.  Let’s just say Buchlady is no stranger to middle age memory lapses.)

But now I have new inspiration!  A few months back I subscribed to Anita Silvey’s Book-a-Day Almanac blog and I’ve so appreciated the way she’s jogged my book memories on a daily basis.    SO,  I’ve decided to re-read a bunch of books that have been sitting on shelves at school, books that I consider gems-to-be-remembered, with the idea of “selling” them to kids next year.  I’ll share these with you via this blog.  Maybe you’ll rediscover a treasure, too.

If you like what you see here, please consider subscribing for free!

Leave a Reply

