Newbery Time

There’s been a lot of “best of” lists floating around the blogosphere in recent weeks as we approach ALA’s Midwinter Conference and the annual awards on January 23.  A recent post from SLJ Mover and Shaker Jon Schumacher has me thinking that it’s time for me to re-invest some reading time in past Newbery winners.

Mr. Schu has issued a no-stress challenge.  Read :

a. in chronological order from the award’s inception to the present

b. by decade (one from each;  two? You decide)

c. the winner and one “honor” for the time frame you choose

d. only the ones you’ve never read

e. whatever no-stress way you’d like.

Sounds terrific!  Even though I’m firmly entrenched in a pre-K to grade 3 school and I put more energy into the Caldecott winners, I know there are a lot of great Newbery books to be read and recommended to students, so I’m in!

What are some of your favorite Newbery books?  What title is your choice for this year’s medal?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margo Jantzi
    Jan 03, 2012 @ 11:19:08

    My all time favorite Newbery is HOLES by Louis Sachar. I love the various storythreads and how the “holes” are filled in and make clear sense in the end.

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Jan 03, 2012 @ 12:25:05

      I agree–a tremendous book! I love Sharon Creech’s Walk Two Moons for many of the same reasons. My favorites from the last 20 years have been Out of the Dust, Missing May, and A Single Shard.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

