100 Days, 100 Years, 100 Posts!

Today is officially the 100th day of school for me.  I’ve been saving this post for today even though Hitty:  Her First 100 Years was the first book I decided to read for the Newbery Challenge.

Besides the obvious connection in the title, this is also my 100th post!  I began this blog in July 2010 and I’ve stuck it out for 100 posts.  Thank you, readers, for hanging in there with me!

Hitty was a bit of a surprise.  I was  skeptical, wondering if it could still appeal to today’s readers, but after reading it I definitely think it can.  The idea of following a doll (or some other toy) through many years and owners and circumstances works.  (Toy Story, anyone?) I still have students who enjoy Holling’s Paddle to the Sea, and Emily Jenkins’s books about toys are quite popular in my library right now.  Then there’s The Velveteen Rabbit, and The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane.  Ann Martin’s Doll People series will serve as companion books as well.

Maybe it’s time for a new display–dolls, dolls, dolls! Ask staff members to bring in their vintage dolls, find some old matryoshka nesting dolls, sprinkle in the books mentioned above, and voila!

What other books would you include in this display?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanne Grant
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 13:05:13

    Hi Kathy–I have a nesting doll–want me to bring it in tomorrow? Hitty sounds great. I assume it’s in the library? I might have to borrow it…

    Reply

  2. cfrankenhoff123
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 13:51:35

    Congratulations Mrs. Lawrence on your 100th post! We are celebrating the 100th day today by adding your blog to our blogroll. We hope to check in with you from time to time and comment on your blog. We were wondering, how many posts do you submit each year? -Your friends in Room 25

    Reply

    • buchlady
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 15:18:27

      Hello second grade friends,
      Thank you for your kind words. To answer your question, it has taken me about a year and a half to write 100 posts. (I began my blog in July of 2010.) Why did it take me so long, you ask? It’s because I post for my librarian friends about once a week. YOU on the other hand have a lot to post about with the daily happenings in science, math, literacy, etc. You will reach 100 posts before you know it!

      If you would like to be subscribers, it might be better if you added my OTHER blog to your blogroll. The audience for Buchlady’s Blog is librarians. (We all know how important it is to consider your audience in your writing.) My Hiawatha Blog will keep you up to date on the library happenings. You might be interested to know what I do with some of your other friends in the building! Here’s what I wrote last night (including a slideshow) about Family Reading Night. Enjoy!

      Reply

  3. Linda Hansen
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 14:29:55

    Here’s to all those wonderful dolls that we all enjoyed as children spending many hours of quiet playtime using our imaginations to take our little friends around the world on many adventures or to simply practice taking care of them when they had a cold and fever. And…here’s to the “Buchlady” for her devotion to sharing wonderful literature with young and old alike. When Jeanne is finished with Hitty I want to borrow it. I also have two miniture nesting dolls I could bring in.
    Have an awesome 100th day!
    Linda

    Reply

  4. Kathleen
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 13:02:00

    Rumer Godden’s doll books: Candy Floss, The Fairy Doll, Holly and Ivy. (our first grade teacher read the last title aloud to her class in December as it’s a Christmas story and her students LOVED it)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

