Farewell, Mr. Sendak

Renowned author and illustrator Maurice Sendak passed away on Tuesday at the age of 83.  Though he might be most famous for his Caldecott Award-winning book Where the Wild Things Are, I always loved his illustrations for Elsa Minarik’s Little Bear series, and his book Chicken Soup with Rice.  When I was a second grade teacher we often performed Chicken Soup as a class.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Sassi
    May 09, 2012 @ 12:44:05

    When I was a child, Sendak’s Chicken Soup with Rice was part of a miniature boxed set of four books – all illustrated and, I believe, written by him as well. I treasured those books. His illustrations and writing style were distinctly his and they were wonderful! Thanks for reminding me of the Chicken Soup book.

    Reply

    • buchlady
      May 09, 2012 @ 15:39:02

      I know that set as well! And I’ve had the tune for Chicken Soup going through my head all day. I think it was Carole King who did the soundtrack.

      Reply

      • Laura Sassi
        May 09, 2012 @ 15:41:16

        And now I remember that PIERRE was another book in the set. I loved that one too! I’ll have to see if my parents still have the set somewhere. I’d love to share it with my kids.

Leave a Reply

